Manchester City Council

Manchester City Council is the local government authority for Manchester, a city and metropolitan borough in Greater Manchester, England. It is composed of 96 councillors, three for each of the 32 electoral wards of Manchester. Currently the council is controlled by the Labour Party and is led by Sir Richard Leese. Sir Howard Bernstein acts as the apolitical chief executive. Many, but not all, of the council's staff are based at Manchester Town Hall.

Manchester Town Hall in Albert Square is one of the most iconic landmarks in the city. Regarded as one of the finest examples of Neo-Gothic architecture in the United Kingdom, it is one of the most important Grade 1 listed buildings in England. The building was designed by architect Alfred Waterhouse and was completed in 1877. It contains many grand ceremonial rooms, such as the Great Hall, which is decorated with murals by Ford Madox Brown that illustrate the history of the city.  

The Town Hall is open Monday to Saturday, however please note that rooms are not always available for viewing if an event is taking place. You are advised, therefore, to check in advance to see which rooms are available.

The Town Hall and the nearby Central Library and Town Hall Extension are known collectively as the Town Hall Complex. A transformation programme is currently underway, which will improve the buildings and preserve them for future generations.